Franz Schubert : Trout Quintet (in A) Op.114 or D.667 - 4th of 5 movements

Franz Schubert's Trout Quintet consists of 5 movements, and this the 4th movement is what gives the Quintet its popular name. It is a set of variations based on the melody from his song The Trout (Die Forelle). The final section marked "Allegretto" is very similar to this Song with the triplet figures in the piano accompaniment suggesting the trickling sound of the river where the trout is swimming.

Most Piano Quintets use the instruments of a String Quartet (2 violins, a viola and a cello) plus a piano. The instrumentation in this quintet is unusual since it has a double-bass instead of the second violin. You can download the full score of this movement, and the individual parts for Violin, Viola, Cello, Double-Bass and Piano. In addition Midi and MP3 versions can be downloaded using the links at the left hand side. Below is a piano roll animation of the music and below that you can play the mp3 file and view the sheet music score before downloading.

There are a number of editions of the complete 5 movement Trout Quintet and we suggest the following: Henle Urtext Edition of score and parts at Sheet Music Plus and Music Room, Dover miniature score at Music Room and arrangement for 2 pianos also at Music Room.

All material in mfiles is copyright © 1999-2019 Music Files Ltd. All rights reserved.