John Ottman - prolific relative newcomer

John Ottman: X-Men 2 - soundtrack CD cover John Ottman is a relative newcomer to the world of film music, but he has already been associated with some of the biggest movies of recent years. Unusually he has also performed the role of "Film Editor" on a few of these films, perhaps giving him the unique ability to compose and cut his own music with complete consistency. Many of his film scores have come from the suspense and horror genres with titles such as "Eight Legged Freaks", "Snow White: A Study in Terror", "Lake Placid" and "Urban Legend: Final Cut" to his credit. While some of these play things straight, there are times when both visiually and aurally the horror turns into comedy pastiche. For "Halloween H20" he was able to do a clever reworking of the original John Carpenter theme dating back to the first movie 20 years before. In this movie Ottman has included a little musical joke. Jamie Lee Curtis' mother Janet Leigh makes cameo appearance as a teacher in the school. For this brief appearance, the music reminds us that it was Janet Leigh in the shower with a few bars of music from Bernard Herrmann's Psycho.

John Ottman: Cruel Intentions and Selected Suites - album CD cover When his score for "Cruel Intentions" was replaced, this gave him a rather ironic title to use for an album of his film music. "Cruel Intentions and Selected Suites" contains music from his unused score to "Cruel Intentions" and also many themes, cues and suites from his other film music. Since he is a relative newcomer, this album covers music from most of his films to date up until about 2004 and also the "Fantasy Island" TV Series. This is available from in the UK, or in the US. Another compilation album by John Ottman is "Portrait of Terror" which includes music from "The Usual Suspects", "Apt Pupil" and "Halloween H20".

John Ottman: Jack the Giant Slayer - soundtrack CD cover Ottman's soundtrack to "X-Men 2" (also known as "X2") was the first sequel in what has now become a very successful film series. It seems to have started a trend for the composer in scoring superhero movies, because he has now gone on to score the "Fantastic Four" and "Superman Returns" which uses themes established by John Williams in the earlier series of Superman films featuring Christopher Reeve in the title role. Ottman has even scored the animated super hero "Astro Boy". The composer's latest film score is another collaboration with Bryan Singer, Jack the Giant Slayer. The film is a traditional fantasy adventure story, and Ottman's score is a full-blooded and welcome return to the golden age of film scoring.

Note: It has been reported that the tracks on the soundtrack CD of "X-Men: Days of Future Past" were cut in the wrong order and therefore have the wrong names.

Films by John Ottman:

    John Ottman: The Usual Suspects - soundtrack CD cover
  • The Usual Suspects - a score that is both gripping and sensitive
  • The Cable Guy
  • Snow White: A Tale of Terror - a horror version of the story starring Sigourney Weaver
  • Incognito
  • Halloween H20: 20 Years Later
  • Apt Pupil
  • Lake Placid - a Jaws-like spoof but with a giant crocodile, the music has similar qualities for the "lurking menace" sound and the many "false alarm shockers"
  • Urban Legends: Final Cut
  • Eight Legged Freaks - more tongue-in-cheek horror
  • John Ottman: Superman Returns - soundtrack CD cover
  • Bubble Boy
  • Pumpkin
  • Trapped
  • X-Men 2 - a commendable follow-on to Michael Kamen who did the first movie
  • Gothika
  • Cellular
  • Hide and Seek
  • House of Wax (2005)
  • Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
  • The Fantastic Four
  • Superman Returns - a new score that uses the themes established in previous Superman films by John Williams
  • John Ottman and Alexander Rudd: Unknown - soundtrack CD cover
  • Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer - sequel to Fantastic Four
  • The Invasion
  • Valkyrie - the choral music during the end-titles is particularly memorable in this movie based on a true story
  • Orphan
  • Astro Boy - animation
  • The Losers
  • The Resident
  • Unknown
  • Jack the Giant Slayer - Bryan Singer's updated version of the fantasy adventure story with a rousing score by Ottman
  • Non-Stop - with additional music by Edwin Wendler
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past - a return to the X-Men franchise, and amazingly Ottman is editor for the film as well as the score composer - how does he have the time to do both jobs?
  • The Nice Guys - co-composer with David Buckley
  • X-Men: Apocalypse

TV music by John Ottman:

  • Fantasy Island - theme tune and incidental music
  • Point of Origin - TV movie

John Ottman - Recommendations:

Among the albums and film score CDs by John Ottman, we recommend the following:

John Ottman - Memorabilia:

Here are some CD covers signed by John Ottman. Our thanks to Petr Kocanda for permission to use his collection of autographed CDs. Click any thumbnail below to see the image full size in a separate window.

John Ottman & Alexander Rudd: Unknown - signed CD John Ottman: Apt Pupil - signed CD John Ottman: Astro Boy - signed CD John Ottman: Bubble Boy - signed CD John Ottman: Cruel Intentions - signed CD John Ottman: Eight Legged Freaks - signed CD John Ottman: Fantastic Four - signed CD John Ottman - Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer - signed CD John Ottman: Hide and Seek - signed CD John Ottman: House of Wax - signed CD John Ottman: Incognito - signed CD John Ottman: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang - signed CD John Ottman: Lake Placid - signed CD John Ottman: Orphan - signed CD John Ottman: Point of Origin - signed CD John Ottman: Portrait of Terror - signed CD John Ottman: Pumpkin - signed CD John Ottman - Snow White: A Tale of Terror - signed CD John Ottman: Superman Returns - signed CD John Ottman - The Cable Guy: Fantasy Island - signed CD John Ottman: The Invasion - signed CD John Ottman: The Usual Suspects - signed CD John Ottman - Urban Legends: Final Cut - signed CD John Ottman: Valkyrie - signed CD John Ottman: X-Men 2 - signed CD John Ottman: X2 X-Men United Expanded Score - signed CD