Other Composers

Jane Antonia Cornish

Jane Antonia Cornish Born in Britain, Jane Antonia Cornish displayed her musical talents from a young age and started piano and violin lessons at the age of 7. She wrote her first symphony at the age of 12 and was a finalist playing violin in the BBC Young Musician of the Year Competition. She studied violin and composition at the Royal College of Music in London, and in her initial career has served as orchestrator on a number of films and also scored for television. For her first major film, the Jim Henson production "Five Children and It" with Eddie Izzard and Kenneth Branaugh, Cornish has received the "Anthony Asquith Award for Best New British Composer" at the BAFTAs (the British equivalent of the Oscars).

Jane Antonia Cornish - Island of Lost Souls soundtrack album cover Cornish now stays in Los Angeles where she recently won the "Breakthrough Brits in Hollywood Award" in November 2005. In 2007 she completed the score for the Danish movie "Island of Lost Souls" and was commissioned to write a concert suite based on the music from this epic. Cornish then went on to score the thriller "Solstice". Her own website is at www.janecornish.com and is currently featuring some of her concert works (samples of which can be heard online), plus music from the film "Fireflies in the Garden" to tie in with its Los Angeles premiere which was in 2011.

Films by Jane Antonia Cornish:

  • Alex and Emma - orchestrator
  • The Girl Next Door - orchestrator
  • Five Children and It - winning BAFTA's award for Best New British Composer, both the music and story for this film bear similarities to that children's adventure in the magical land of Narnia
  • So Goes the Nation
  • Island of Lost Souls - Danish film
  • Solstice - a psychological thriller
  • Fireflies in the Garden - made in 2008 but receiving its premiere in 2011
  • Kung Fu Panda - orchestrator for this score by Hans Zimmer and John Powell
  • Hancock - orchestrator for another John Powell score
  • Every Little Step - documentary
  • The Four-Faced Liar
  • Fireflies in the Garden - a drama with an all-star cast
  • Highland Park - due for release in 2012

TV work by Jane Antonia Cornish:

  • ESPN Sports Century - some episodes of the series

Jane Antonia Cornish Recommendations:

There is a soundtrack album of music from the film "Island of the Lost Souls". The album has the original Danish title on the cover "De Fortabte Sjæles ø" and is available as a CD and also as an MP3 download from this link at Amazon.co.uk.

Jane Antonia Cornish - Memorabilia:

Here are some CD covers signed by Jane Antonia Cornish. Our thanks to Petr Kocanda for permission to use his collection of autographed CDs. Click the thumbnail below to see the image full size in a separate window.

Jane Antonia Cornish: Fireflies in the Garden - signed CD Jane Antonia Cornish: Island of the Lost Souls - signed CD