Zbigniew Preisner - Silence, Night & Dreams

Zbigniew Preisner photo portrait The latest project of celebrated Polish composer Zbigniew Preisner is called "Silence, Night & Dreams", and is a large scale work for orchestra, chorus and soloists. The work is based on a selection of texts from the Book of Job. The UK premier of this work will be presented as part of the Barbican Contemporary Music Programme on 2nd December 2007, with the composer conducting the London Symphony Orchestra with the Crouch End Festival Chorus. In total there are 12 soloists led by Special Guest Teresa Salgueiro, the Portuguese lead singer of the group "Madredeus".

Zbigniew Preisner - Silence, Night & Dreams album CD reverse The second part of the programme is a suite of Preisner's film themes, including music from "The Double Life of Veronique" and the "Three Colours" trilogy. All of these films were directed by Polish director Krzysztof Kieslowski with whom Preisner had forged a strong creative partnership until Kieslowski's death in 1996. It was this event that prompted Preisner to compose his first large scale work "Requiem for my Friend" in memory of the director. Among other awards, Preisner has won the Silver Bear from the Berlin Film Festival in 1997, two Cesars from the French Film Academy and three consecutive citations as the year's most outstanding composer of film music in The Low Angeles Critics Association Awards for 1991, 1992 and 1993.

Details for the concert are:

Date: Sunday 2nd December 2007 at 7:30pm
Location: Barbican Hall, Barbican Centre, Silk Street, London EX2Y 8DS
Box Office 0845 120 7550
Tickets £15/20/30/35

  • Silence, Night and Dreams - from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com
  • Silence, Night & Dreams - the Album

    Though recorded by different musicians and soloists from the concert previewed above, an album of this work is already available from these links at Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com, where you can also listen to musical extracts and download individual tracks as MP3 files.

      Zbigniew Preisner - Silence, Night & Dreams album CD cover
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: Perchance
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: Silence, Night and Dreams
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Speak
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Dream
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Find
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Know
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Die
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: Be Faithful, Go
    • Silence, Night & Dreams: To Love